Sandboxes and Moving Vans

The last few weeks have been incredibly busy ones for me, both in game and out of game. A lot has changed for me in-game, more than I can cover in one post. I’ll try to do a quick summary.

I’ve decided to move out of the Amamake region. I’ve also decided to leave F1NAL. The last two months in this region have been some of the most fun I’ve had in Eve. When we first moved here, Amamake was the Wild West, more targets, more fights concentrated in a small area than anything I’ve ever experienced. This lasted for roughly the first month or so, which, I now realize coincided with a post-dominion traffic spike and winter holiday for uni students. The last month or so has been quite different – enormously quieter. So much so that corp gangs now salivate at the chance to gank a rifter. This has resulted in blobbing and gate / station camping in the worst way, two things which I do not particularly enjoy. As targets and good fights became more and more scarce in our local region, I found myself soloing a lot more – something I’ve honestly not done a lot until now. I’ve started to really enjoy it, and its awoken in me my old wanderlust. Bosboger / Amamake is very sequestered, and as a result not a good area for roaming – there are really only two directions to go if you’re flashy, and both are not particularly populated.

So, on to new things in new regions. Maybe the grass just looks greener, or maybe I’ll find something I enjoy more. All I know is Ama and F1NAL were great fun for a while, but ultimately not for me. Time to pack up the moving van (Obelisk) and go build a little sandcastle somewhere else in the box. A few friends and I have relocated back to our roots, Black Rise, for a bit, to catch our breath and try some new things.

My time in game is currently split between the freedom of doing whatever I want, wherever I want, whenever I want on my main (except the whole flashy part) – a feeling that for some reason had left me for a while – and the drudgery of hauling on my alt. I hate moving. I have now moved 3 times in 4 months. First from Black Rise to the Maila area, then to Bosboger / Amamake, and now back to Black Rise. I have accumulated roughly 50+ ships, including a half dozen battleships (wtf are all these things for?!), so my Obelisk alt is rather busy running afk courier contracts around the Eve universe, plus running friends ships around as well. Ughh, so annoying. But almost done (for now).

I’m worn down from moving, but, on the other hand, I have not been this excited to play the game in a long time. I think this is the first time I’ve truly felt the thrill of the sandbox – the freedom to do anything, the knowledge to know what’s out there, and the resources to have a shot at actually accomplishing it. This unique openness is one of the two things that sets Eve apart from other games – I would be quitting any other game right now, but Eve allows me to reinvent my character into something completely new. I just have to decide what that’s going to be.

And load up the truck.

One Response to Sandboxes and Moving Vans

  1. Spectre says:

    The reason that the Amamake region has gotten stale over the past month is because we don’t live there anymore. Nowhere in Eve is fun without me.

    But seriously, come visit us in Old Man Star one of these days. We aren’t too far from Black Rise.

Leave a Reply

